Help With Student Loans - HERE!

Options

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,032 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Just to add to what Ed said, and to pick up on these bits:
    I don't understand how my interest could have accrued to take me over what I borrowed initially.
    Would I have been paying interest still whilst on maternity leave? I think it is disgusting. As a student I was not made aware of the consequences of this loan. That may sound pathetic but it was billed to me as an interest free loan. Nobody at any point mentioned this would change after my course had ended.
    Hate to break it to you, but you started to accrue interest on this loan on the day you took it out, so each year throughout your degree the total you owed was increasing, so that you always owed more than you'd originally borrowed. Nothing changed after your course ended.
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • tiredwithtwins
    Options
    hi everyone,
    just after some advice as im concerned im going to overpay the final balance in the next couple of months.
    I checked the slc this morning to check my balance, and last years contributions still haven't come off my account .. as im down to the last £125ish, im worried my employer (the NHS) is going to carry on making deductions when the balance is actually cleared. When I spoke to payroll they said they receive communication from the slc when to stop taking the deduction, but as the loan balance doesn't seem to be updated until the end of august every year I don't want to carry on making payments and end up having the palaver of reclaiming (plus im a broke single parent, I cant afford it!!). I rang the slc a few years ago as I disputed the balance, and they say they don't update the balance until they receive communication from the employers!!
    can anyone shed any light on what happens?
    thank you!!! Sue :)
    wading through the treacle of life!