Help With Student Loans - HERE!

Options

Comments

• methodicalmadness
    Options
    Hi there, Ok....so before I contact SAAS, I wonder if anyone can advise me!
    This is my second degree, its is a 4 year Masters undergrad course. My first degree was a BSc(hons) and im now studying in England.
    I am not recieving a tuition fees loan, and my maintanence loan is tiny as I am under 25 and my folks earn too much (how inconciderate :P).
    As this degree is a level above my previous degree, should I be getting the tuition fee loan?
    I am not receiving help from my parents....(and im not going to take action against them :P), is there anyway of getting a higher maintenance loan through SAAS?
    Really struggling here folks. So any help and advice you can give me is very gratefully recieved!
    Cheers
    Anything unrelated to elephants is irrelephant...
  • setmefree2
    setmefree2 Posts: 9,072 Forumite
    Mortgage-free Glee!
    edited 23 January 2011 at 10:34AM
    Options
    coffeenut wrote: »
    Hi, Just joined this forum so hope you're still able to give advice? My daughter finished uni two years ago with an £18k debt. Since then the interest has averaged £80 a month - around another £2k. I rang the student loans company and they said there's nothing she can do to suspend the interest as 'she knew what she was doing when she signed up for it'! Can you advise?

The new loan system is going to make this situation even worse potentially isn't it? Students are going to borrow more and pay more interest - quite scary! :eek:

For example,
    The Institute for Fiscal Studies says that, for about half of gradates, the plan is essentially a 9% graduate tax for 30 years, because they will not finish paying off the debt by the 30-year cut-off point.