edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Shop but don't drop
52 replies 90.7K views

Replies

• deanosdeanos Forumite
    11.1K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Uniform Washer
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    caleb2003 wrote:
    I tried this today on a £850 laptop and could only get a measly 10% off so I didnt bother.

You turned down a £85 discount , seems a good discount to me.
  • I am also an ex salesman and have used various methods to get my customers a good deal. The trick is to hit the shops near the end of a month, even better if it's also the end of their financial quarter. Ask them directly what their margin is on an item. the salesperson will probably not know but the person they check with will and that person will be curious to know who is asking.

Having said that, it is getting increasingly difficult to get a deal in these electrical retailers. We are looking to buy new white goods and Comet have all the stuff we need, however, when I asked what discount I would get if I bought a washing machine, side by side F freezer, Smeg dishwasher and range cooker, I was told "we price match daily so dont discount anything" Hello!!! I have three grand to spend and I can either do it in several individual shops or I am giving you the option of racking up premium purchases in a oner. We are off into town today again to try to persuade them.

Another thing is delivery charges. I dont do delivery charges. When they try to justify it, simply remind them how much money you are spending and that if you spend over £6 on a pizza it is delivered free within an hour.
  • I am also an ex salesman and have used various methods to get my customers a good deal. The trick is to hit the shops near the end of a month, even better if it's also the end of their financial quarter. Ask them directly what their margin is on an item. the salesperson will probably not know but the person they check with will and that person will be curious to know who is asking.