Looking for advice: Husband with spending problem

Options
heartbrokengirl
heartbrokengirl Posts: 6 Forumite
edited 11 February 2016 at 3:53PM in Debt-free wannabe
I'm a total newbie to these forums so please forgive me for any mistakes I make...

I'm totally lost in debt problems, or rather, my husband's debt problems. We haven't been married for long but last week I discovered that he is in debt to the tune of £45k. He didn't tell me this himself. I found it out by piecing together paperwork I could find and forcing him to get a credit report for me to see.

I had an inkling that things weren't right for a while but my husband always had a reason or a story. It's difficult to write it all down in a coherent storyline, but I'll try and I'm really grateful to any advice.

Me:
I'm no saint myself and I've spent too much in the past, but I have always then worked hard to clear any debt. I do treat myself regularly because I haven't felt that there were money problems until now. However, I've been saving into a pension monthly for several years and also kept an emergency fund of about 5k. I've also been giving hubby money of between 250 to 1k a month over the past year. I'm self-employed.

Him:
He has a fairly decent job bringing in about 2k a month after tax. He works very long hours and isn't lazy by any stretch of the imagination. He does have a taste for the good life but from what I had seen previously, it wasn't excessive. He likes going out with his mates, eating in restaurants etc. He doesn't have any big ticket items or anything like that.

We don't have any joint accounts or loans together.

The debts: