Weirdest tip ever?

I've never written on this board before so 'Hello' :wave:

Looking at a book I got from a charity shop, I came across a rather 'unusual' tip! The book is american, and its called 'Vinegar, Duct Tape, Milk Jugs & More' - 1001 ingenious ways to use common household items to repair, restore, revive, or replace just about Everything in Your Life' (Phew!)

The tip was this: 'To make an excellent barrier to stop home permanent chemicals making their way to your eyes, ears or neck, dig out some sanitary minipads that have an adhesive backing. After your hair is up in the bonnet or on the pins and curlers, and before anyone applies anything liquid, attach the minipads sticky side down to the forehead, temples and back of your neck. Laid lengthwise at the edge of your hairline, they will stop all drips from reaching your face or collar.' :eek: :rotfl:

"before anyone applies anything liquid" - are they suggesting you do this at the hairdressers? :eek: Got to be the funniest/weirdest tip I've ever read! :D Unless anyone knows different?...

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]
I don't want to make money, I just want to be wonderful
Marilyn Monroe

Comments

• I read a similar one advising the use of panty liners as emergency insoles for shoes.
    A minute at the till, a lifetime on the bill.

Nothing tastes as good as being slim feels.

one life, live it!
  • hev_2
    hev_2 Posts: 1,397 Forumite
    I have an old book of tips and wrinkles, I think from the thirties or earlier. It was sponsored by a soap company, but I can't remember one.

It suggested getting wine glasses which have lost their bases and filling with them with meths. Tie them to broom handles and then press them up against flies that have settled on the ceiling. The flies will then be overcome with the fumes, drop into the meths and drown.