Forum Home» Benefits & Tax Credits

Info needed about claiming JOBSEEKERS ALLOWANCE

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

Info needed about claiming JOBSEEKERS ALLOWANCE

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Benefits & Tax Credits
18 replies 11.3K views
Legacy_userLegacy_user Forumite
0 posts
MoneySaving Newbie
edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Benefits & Tax Credits
Hi i have been working for the last seven months,

due to bullying and stress caused at work i am about to leave my job due to this situation.

I have been to my doctors twice and been given medication.

After i give my notice what do i do in regards to jobseekers?

Can someone also tell me how living in my own mortgaged property with my girlfriend (who works)
affects the amount of benefit i receive!

Thank-you for any help.

Replies

• lisyloolisyloo Forumite
    26.7K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Firstly make an appointment with your local DSS office straight away (if you wait then the start of your benefit claim will be delayed).

I am not sure whether you are entitled to JSA because I thought you needed to have paid National Insurance for 2 years before you could get it (I'm not up to date with the latest info so you would need to check that).

JSA is not a means tested benefit so it does not matter about your property or girlfriend but the length of time you've been paying national insurance i.e. working, may affect your entitlement.

Normally you are not entitled to state benefits if you leave your job voluntarily.
    However I belive there are exceptions for medical reasons.
    The fact that you have been to your doctors is good because you can prove that.
    Expect to have to prove the medical situation.