Free wireless internet and cheap 3G broadband article discussion

Options

Comments

• highguyuk
    highguyuk Posts: 2,763 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    jdo wrote: »
    Thanks to all who have contributed to this thread, it has really helped me decide on the best broadband for me to get. I am going for the PAYG 3 Mobile broadband, and have a couple of quick questions:

1) From buying online, I have a choice of three dongles, the pink and white ones appear to be the same, and a black one which is a slimmer model (ZTE MF622 USB Modem). Are there any differences I should be aware of between these, such as quality of service, ability to unlock, anything else?

2) I'm a student, so want to take advantage of the £50 off the price of the dongle. I've had a 'run through' of buying on line, and after choosing my dongle it asks for my university e-mail address. On entering this, I go to the payment page, where the price of the dongle is still shown as £99. Can anyone who has bought this deal online clarify whether I will get charged £49 or whether I get charged £99 and have to somehow claim back the £50 off?

Buying online there were 3 dongles, but in the shop I only had the "normal" one to choose from. No differences as far as I'm aware. I'd imagine that very shortly these modems will change to look like a memory stick, the Vodaphone one is now already that small.

I'm not a student, but took advantage of the offer via a friend. I'd advise for you just to go into the shop and get it, and get the £50 off straight away. My friend was just charged a straight £49.99 for the modem, and then the £15 (or however much top-up) you want on top. Don't have to worry about delivery etc then and you get it straight away. :D
  • highguyuk
    Options