We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

New Amex Nectar Card – Points Don’t Make Prizes

Options
13»

Comments

• martybrum
    Options
    I am a Store Trainer for Sainsburys Supermarkets Limited.

There is a perfectly good explanation as to why the Checkout Operators at Sainsburys do not ask for either 1) your Nectar card, and 2) if you would like Cashback.

This is to speed up the throughput of shopping at the Checkouts. A huge amount of research has gone into Customers expectations at the checkout, and practically done away with are "Scan N Pack" and asking any questions about Nectar, Cashback and Saveback. As the training says "if the customer requires these services, then they will ask for them".

This is designed to improve the "Items per minute" that each checkout operator processes. The acceptable IPM is 17. This is apparently 22 at Tesco and 20 at ASDA. Most of our checkout operators achieve between 12 and 15 IPM, due to the required level of "interaction" required by our "MCM", Mystery Customer Measure, programme.

Hope this clarifys a couple of points.

You never know though. Suppose I would be the last person to know in the Sainsburys chain if it was decided that Nectar was for the scrap heap. Well a couple of weeks before our Checkout Operators I would expect.

Thanks for the very helpful site Martin. It has been a great help for a long time. I always use your links to whatever I am buying. Martybrum.
  • bluestu
    Options