IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

DCB- What next?

Options
Hi all,

I'm very new to this, so would appreciate a little advice if possible!

I had a PCN from a McDonalds car park in Oct 2023. I responded with reasons why I would not be paying the charge. The charge is for £100 for an overstay in a free car park (free for 90 mins). Overstayed by 47 mins.

DCB got involved (and added another £70!) and I responded with a response on a previous thread to state I would defend, needed an additional 30 days etc. I have just got the following response and unsure of where I go next?

Thanks in advance!

"We now respond to the same as follows.

When parking on private land, the contractual terms of the site are set out on the signs. You are entering a contract and agreeing to the terms by parking and staying on the site. Parking in breach of the terms as stipulated on the signage means that you are then breaking the terms of the contract. This breach of contract is the grounds for the sum of the Parking Charge Notice (PCN).

The terms and conditions on the signs stated '90 minute maximum stay', or otherwise a PCN of £100.00 would be issued. The vehicle was recorded on the land for 2 hours and 17 minutes, as is demonstrated in the photographic evidence attached. The PCN was issued correctly, and in accordance with the amount as stated.

Our Client provided a sufficient amount of signage in order for Drivers to understand they were parking on private land and to understand the terms of the site.