IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

ParkingEye - Hotel Indigo Newcastle stay, CNBC claim, but did nothing wrong

Options
Hi everyone, forum newbie here. As the post title states, I received a claim form from the CNBC with ParkingEye as the Claimant and DCBL representing. The claim relates to parking at a hotel car park back in 2022 where I did everything correctly (i.e. did not overstay, I input my VRN, etc.). I have not received PCNs and the first notice is this claim form. I've moved house in that time, so it's possible they were sent out but I never received them.

I have also been in touch with the general manager of the hotel in question, who has been helpful - but there's a problem: the hotel ditched ParkingEye a while ago (hooray!) and now use a different operator, so they no longer have access to an admin portal to cancel a penalty (boooo). They still have a contact at PE, which they have reached out to... but I am not holding my breath.

In the meantime I filed my Acknoledgement of Service right away and have been working on my defence since. I have 5 days left to get my defence filed and acknolwedged, so I would really appreciate feedback on the draft below and a few questions I have about what to include/no include from the template defence in my case.

My case summary:
  • I stayed for one night at the hotel. The hotel offers guests a discounted rate for parking in their underground car park of £14 for 24 hours.
  • The "parking" page on their website stated this and their FAQs stated "Park when you arrive and pay and register at hotel reception." (this is current, and also in previous versions via archive.org)