Octopus to EDF - please help beginner in a pickle

Options
rebeccaqphan
rebeccaqphan Posts: 12 Forumite
First Post Name Dropper
Hi all,

Newbie here needing help on a few bits please. Please let me know if I'm doing anything incorrectly!

My household comprises 3 people (myself, my husband and our 6 year old daughter). Yesterday when working out our energy usage (for the first time ever) and we were shocked with how much gas we use a year! 

Our average electricity annual usage is 2295kWh BUT our gas annual usage is 20269kWh. We both work and are out of the house 8am - 6pm weekdays. The hot water and heating is only on twice a day from 6am - 8am in the morning and 5pm to 8pm in the evening.

Our house has 6 double bedrooms and i'm considering:-

1. turning off the heating for the 4 which we don't use and then shutting the door? Not sure if that will work in reducing our usage, please help?

2. I realised that our thermostat was set to 30 degrees so have reduced that to 25. Our house is always so cold (always wearing at least 3 layers) so I didn't even realise it was set to 30. Is setting to 25 standard or is it higher or lower please?

Now - to fix or not to fix.

I'm currently on the Octopus variable rate paying approx £230 per month - £2,600 per year.

I've seen the EDF energy on MSE and used the calculator on here yesterday which gave me a saving of 18% or greater so catergorised as "strongly worth considering".

Our current:
gas unit rate is 7.52, standing charge as 27.47
electricity unit rate is 28.78 and standing charge 47.95

EDF tariff which is being advertised is
gas unit rate 5.653, standing charge 30.765
electricity unit rate is 22.607 and standing charge 63.325

I've never dealt with electricity, gas and tariffs before so those numbers mean nothing to me but I'm really eager to learn and understand the area more.