Relatively simple job, but one of my worst DIY jobs! How to recover repair. this.?

Comments

• Section62
    Section62 Posts: 7,742 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Ganga said:
    I thought it was just me who was terrible at applying silicon ,tried every method and cannot get a professional finish .
    It's an art, and I'm not an artist.
    Me neither, but I've found the rounded end of a Sharpie pen (not the nib end) to be a better tool for finishing silicone than any of the tools designed for the job.

Timing is everything - if it starts to 'skin' then either leave it alone, or clean it all off.
  • ThisIsWeird
    ThisIsWeird Posts: 4,814 Forumite
    Ganga said:
    I thought it was just me who was terrible at applying silicon ,tried every method and cannot get a professional finish .
    Have you tried these tools? They are pretty amazing.
  • ThisIsWeird
    Ganga said:
    It's an art, and I'm not an artist.
    Pish, you ain't :smile:
  • Ganga
    Ganga Posts: 4,139 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    edited 12 February at 7:29PM
    Ganga said:
    Yes i bought some but when you see the chap use them on youtube they never have any gaps or have loads spreading over the sides of the tools. 
    ITS NOT EASY TO GET EVERYTHING WRONG ,I HAVE TO WORK HARD TO DO IT!
  • chris_n
    chris_n Posts: 613 Forumite
    Ganga said:
    Ganga said:
    Yes i bought some but when you see the chap use them on youtube they never have any gaps or have loads spreading over the sides of the tools. 
    That's because they put the right amount on in the first place. If the gap is inconsistent in any plane you need to adjust the speed of travel of the gun to get a consistently full gap. Very difficult if you don't do it regularly, as they say 'practice makes perfect'.
    Living the dream in the Austrian Alps.
  • ThisIsWeird
    Yes, it's a learning process.