IKEA Pax wardrobe or solid wood?

Comments

• jennifernil
    jennifernil Posts: 5,580 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    edited 29 January at 7:48PM
    ripplyuk said:
    Having watched some YouTube videos I’m confused about whether it’s worth paying extra for a solid wood wardrobe or even if I’m getting solid wood at all. I have no knowledge about these things and there seems to be a lot of companies advertising furniture as ‘solid wood’ when it isn’t. I wouldn’t be able to tell. 

This is the one I’m considering: https://furniture123.co.uk/julian-bowen-marlborough-3-door-wardrobe-mar210

The IKEA Pax is significantly cheaper. It’s for a small bedroom and the wardrobe would need dismantling whenever the room needs decorating in future. From what I’ve read, the Pax is unlikely to survive that but I’m not sure if the solid wood one would either? Perhaps it would be less hassle to replace the Pax wardrobe than pay someone to dismantle and reassemble a solid wood wardrobe each time (I couldn’t do it myself). I’m not even sure if solid wood is better because I’ve read it can warp in sunlight and the room is very bright. The IKEA stuff is basically cardboard from what I can tell which makes me worry about mould. It will be on vinyl, not carpet, and I like to mop a lot so the raw edges could absorb water. 

Any advice/opinions would be appreciated. 

ETA: I did initially want second hand good quality wood furniture but the logistics are a nightmare and after being messed about by various Facebook marketplace/Gumtree sellers I’ve decided to buy new. 
    Looking at the pictures on the website, in particular at the thickness of the doors, it seems unlikely to me that the centre panels are of a decent thickness, so could be plywood with oak veneers.   If they are all oak, then the panels are of very thin oak!     I would be asking the seller some questions about the materials used and the thickness.