Paying for FTTP install

Hi, im trying to find some help with getting FTTP installed. 
I live in a cup-de-sac where every other house can get FTTP through virgin media or a selection of other providers from a line installed by city fibre.  My house sits back from the road and both virgin and city fibre have deemed it uneconomical to connect to my house.  I have spoken to both of them about meeting the costs of the install myself but have been told they can’t do that by both of them.  Basically I’ve been told in a more polite way, your neighbours can all get it but tough luck you can’t and there are no plans to connect my property. 
Does anyone know where I can go with this?
Ive looked at getting a dedicated line installed but this would cost upwards of £12000 over a 3 year contract.  I would much rather spend this money on paying for normal FTTP to be installed if possible.
Are there companies that can be contracted by an individual to install the lines?
Any help would be much appreciated
Thanks
Chris
«1

Comments

  • QrizB
    QrizB Posts: 13,640
    First Post First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Do you currently have a conventional phone line and FTTC? If so, I would imagine that OpenReach will get around to replacing it with FTTP eventually.
    N. Hampshire, he/him. Octopus Go elec & Tracker gas / Shell BB / Lyca mobi. Ripple Kirk Hill member.
    2.72kWp PV facing SSW installed Jan 2012. 11 x 247w panels, 3.6kw inverter. 30MWh generated, long-term average 2.6 Os.
    Ofgem cap table, Ofgem cap explainer. Economy 7 cap explainer. Gas vs E7 vs peak elec heating costs.
  • Hi, Thankyou for replying.  I’m not sure with openreach to be honest, when I use the open reach postcode checker it just tells me there are no plans for install yet.  
    I know there is fibre installed through city fibre to the cabinet.  Do you know if it is possible to pay to have it installed to my home? 
  • littleboo
    littleboo Posts: 1,468
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Forumite
    It's down to Cityfibre and Virgin, and they have already said no
  • GrumpyDil
    GrumpyDil Posts: 1,565
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Do you currently have broadband? 
  • Tiexen
    Tiexen Posts: 718
    First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    Parksey said:
    Hi, im trying to find some help with getting FTTP installed. 
    I live in a cup-de-sac where every other house can get FTTP through virgin media or a selection of other providers from a line installed by city fibre.  My house sits back from the road and both virgin and city fibre have deemed it uneconomical to connect to my house.  I have spoken to both of them about meeting the costs of the install myself but have been told they can’t do that by both of them.  Basically I’ve been told in a more polite way, your neighbours can all get it but tough luck you can’t and there are no plans to connect my property. 
    Does anyone know where I can go with this?
    Ive looked at getting a dedicated line installed but this would cost upwards of £12000 over a 3 year contract.  I would much rather spend this money on paying for normal FTTP to be installed if possible.
    Are there companies that can be contracted by an individual to install the lines?
    Any help would be much appreciated
    Thanks
    Chris

    Have you thought of Starlink:

    STARLINK FOR HOMES

    Reliable high-speed internet, wherever you live. £75/mo, with a hardware cost of £449.


  • glennevis
    glennevis Posts: 628
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Parksey said:
    Hi, im trying to find some help with getting FTTP installed. 
    I live in a cup-de-sac where every other house can get FTTP through virgin media or a selection of other providers from a line installed by city fibre.  My house sits back from the road and both virgin and city fibre have deemed it uneconomical to connect to my house.  I have spoken to both of them about meeting the costs of the install myself but have been told they can’t do that by both of them.  Basically I’ve been told in a more polite way, your neighbours can all get it but tough luck you can’t and there are no plans to connect my property. 
    Does anyone know where I can go with this?
    Ive looked at getting a dedicated line installed but this would cost upwards of £12000 over a 3 year contract.  I would much rather spend this money on paying for normal FTTP to be installed if possible.
    Are there companies that can be contracted by an individual to install the lines?
    Any help would be much appreciated
    Thanks
    Chris
    It would be strange if City Fibre didn't provision all properties in your road.

    Did City Fibre not install an access plate in the cul-de-sac at the nearest point adjacent to the boundary of your property?
  • matelodave
    matelodave Posts: 8,573
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Forumite
    was there an option to have fibre run to your premises when the initial installation was carried out.

    A friend of mine declined the offer when his street was being fibred and cant get it extended now the installation team has moved on. 
    Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large numbers
  • iniltous
    iniltous Posts: 2,980
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Forumite
    edited 30 October 2023 at 9:05AM
    TBH , your the answer to the question of is there ‘ anywhere you can go with this ‘ the answer is No , neither City Fibre ( as a network provider ) or Virgin ( you don’t make it clear if Virgin Network is available to neighbours or Virgin are an ISP on City Fibre ) have any sort of universal service obligation , anything outside of their commercial interests is not considered, presumably they don’t consider requests that fall outside this , even if you offer to mitigate the build costs they would have.

    How is your property different to your neighbours, presumably you don’t have any direct access to the public road/ footpath …if Virgin existed for years ( and never offered service ) and now City Fibre have built in your area but omitted your address on the same basis , presumably it’s a pretty significant hurdle to overcome getting anything to your address.
  • brianposter
    brianposter Posts: 1,271
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Round us it required a knowledgeable neighbour and complaints to our MP to sort things out.
  • 400ixl
    400ixl Posts: 2,634
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Forumite
    Assume then that your current telephone / internet comes in over OpenReach owned telegraph poles? I doubt City Fibre or Virgin would get permission to use this, so they would have to provide their own method to get the fibre to the property across your land.

    About the only thing I can think of is what if you put in the ducting that goes from the kerb to the property for them to then use? No idea if they would take you up on such a proposal as it would not be their ducting but maybe an ask?

    Other than that, what are the plans for OpenReach on your exchange? Is that getting FTTP in the future?

    I assume you are on FTTC at the moment? What speeds do you get and do you really need FTTP speeds?
Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 341.7K Banking & Borrowing
  • 249.7K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 449.1K Spending & Discounts
  • 233.8K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 606K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 172.5K Life & Family
  • 246.7K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.8K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards