Chase App doesn't work on new Samsung phones!!!

135

Comments

  • km1500
    km1500 Posts: 2,320 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    the reason they do it is because although the processor on the cheap phone may well be 64-bit some of the input-output chips are 32-bit because they are cheap and therefore they have to run a 32 bit operating system
  • WillPS
    WillPS Posts: 3,438 Forumite
    Newshound! First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    400ixl said:
    FredTrump said:

    I didn't even know they still made 32-bit Android outside developing countries.

    Do they even run the full version or simply Android Go? 
    Samsung and Motorola as two main examples still put a 32bit OS (the full version not Go which is for developing countries) on their budget phones despite them having 64 bit architectures.

    Unfortunately people who tend to buy these phones are not tech savvy and do not understand the limitations they are getting which will only get worse as more app providers drop support for 32 bit and Google itself drops the 32 bit version (outside of Go).

    Surely that final bit will put an end to the problem of "new phones not working"?
  • clarkey1984
    clarkey1984 Posts: 39 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
  • wmb194
    wmb194 Posts: 3,316 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited 31 March at 7:44AM
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
  • clarkey1984
    clarkey1984 Posts: 39 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    wmb194 said:
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
    This was a consideration, however the aforementioned Samsung I've come from also has only 2gb of ram, so I would presume from your explanation that this handset wouldn't have 64 bit android either.
  • wmb194
    wmb194 Posts: 3,316 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited 31 March at 7:50PM
    wmb194 said:
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
    This was a consideration, however the aforementioned Samsung I've come from also has only 2gb of ram, so I would presume from your explanation that this handset wouldn't have 64 bit android either.
    There must be a way to know which OS your phone is running.

    Are you certain your J4+ doesn't have 3GB? Apparently there are versions that did.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_j4+-9335.php
  • clarkey1984
    clarkey1984 Posts: 39 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    wmb194 said:
    wmb194 said:
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
    This was a consideration, however the aforementioned Samsung I've come from also has only 2gb of ram, so I would presume from your explanation that this handset wouldn't have 64 bit android either.
    There must be a way to know which OS your phone is running.

    Are you certain the J4+ doesn't have 3GB?

    https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_j4+-9335.php
    The Nokia states android 12, the Samsung was on 9 but can't check specific build numbers as I dropped it and the screen exploded, this will however all become academic in the coming weeks as the Samsung was only an old stopgap phone, while my considerably higher specced Nokia x30 is at a repair shop for a new screen and a battery, once i have that back all will be well.
  • wmb194
    wmb194 Posts: 3,316 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited 31 March at 8:03PM
    wmb194 said:
    wmb194 said:
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
    This was a consideration, however the aforementioned Samsung I've come from also has only 2gb of ram, so I would presume from your explanation that this handset wouldn't have 64 bit android either.
    There must be a way to know which OS your phone is running.

    Are you certain the J4+ doesn't have 3GB?

    https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_j4+-9335.php
    The Nokia states android 12, the Samsung was on 9 but can't check specific build numbers as I dropped it and the screen exploded, this will however all become academic in the coming weeks as the Samsung was only an old stopgap phone, while my considerably higher specced Nokia x30 is at a repair shop for a new screen and a battery, once i have that back all will be well.
    Isn't it Android 12 Go on that phone? I think that's 32bit. There are ways to check the file system folders to see whether you have, IIRC, 'lib64' or 'lib32.'
  • flaneurs_lobster
    flaneurs_lobster Posts: 3,572 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    wmb194 said:
    wmb194 said:
    wmb194 said:
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
    This was a consideration, however the aforementioned Samsung I've come from also has only 2gb of ram, so I would presume from your explanation that this handset wouldn't have 64 bit android either.
    There must be a way to know which OS your phone is running.

    Are you certain the J4+ doesn't have 3GB?

    https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_j4+-9335.php
    The Nokia states android 12, the Samsung was on 9 but can't check specific build numbers as I dropped it and the screen exploded, this will however all become academic in the coming weeks as the Samsung was only an old stopgap phone, while my considerably higher specced Nokia x30 is at a repair shop for a new screen and a battery, once i have that back all will be well.
    Isn't it Android 12 Go on that phone? I think that's 32bit. There are ways to check the file system folders to see whether you have, IIRC, 'lib64' or 'lib32.'
    The Nokia X30? Nah, full-fat Android. 

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_x30-11831.php
  • wmb194
    wmb194 Posts: 3,316 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    wmb194 said:
    wmb194 said:
    wmb194 said:
    A bit of a thread resurrection here but I'm up against this exact issue at the moment, Google search brought me to this thread.

    I've recently bought a barely six month old Nokia c02, an entry level handset, running android 12 (not go edition so far as i can tell) its CPU is an ARM cortex a53, a 64 bit chip, but despite that im getting the phone incompatible thing.

    The stupid thing is that my 6 year old Samsung j4 plus has the same a53 at its heart, newest OS version is android 9, and it worked on that phone.

    I just don't understand.
    That one only has 2GB of RAM so it'll be running a 32-bit version of Android and so won't run Chase's app, which requires a 64-bit operating system.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
    This was a consideration, however the aforementioned Samsung I've come from also has only 2gb of ram, so I would presume from your explanation that this handset wouldn't have 64 bit android either.
    There must be a way to know which OS your phone is running.

    Are you certain the J4+ doesn't have 3GB?

    https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_j4+-9335.php
    The Nokia states android 12, the Samsung was on 9 but can't check specific build numbers as I dropped it and the screen exploded, this will however all become academic in the coming weeks as the Samsung was only an old stopgap phone, while my considerably higher specced Nokia x30 is at a repair shop for a new screen and a battery, once i have that back all will be well.
    Isn't it Android 12 Go on that phone? I think that's 32bit. There are ways to check the file system folders to see whether you have, IIRC, 'lib64' or 'lib32.'
    The Nokia X30? Nah, full-fat Android. 

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_x30-11831.php
    Of course, apart from anything else that one has 6GB of RAM, but the phone under discussion is a Nokia c02.

    https://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_c02-12136.php
Meet your Ambassadors

Categories

  • All Categories
  • 343.1K Banking & Borrowing
  • 250.1K Reduce Debt & Boost Income
  • 449.7K Spending & Discounts
  • 235.2K Work, Benefits & Business
  • 607.9K Mortgages, Homes & Bills
  • 173K Life & Family
  • 247.8K Travel & Transport
  • 1.5M Hobbies & Leisure
  • 15.9K Discuss & Feedback
  • 15.1K Coronavirus Support Boards