Where to focus - mortgage, renovations etc?

Comments

• edinburgher
    edinburgher Posts: 13,462 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    You can get IVF for £5k? Friends have been advised it could potentially be 5x that once they've exhausted their free NHS rounds!
  • shellstar
    shellstar Posts: 144 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I'm not an IVF expert, but my experience so far tells me it's incredibly individual and depends on what's wrong, what treatment is needed etc. It's much, much cheaper to go abroad, and they have good success rates. However there are different rules in place, and for us it's not the right option. 
  • killerpeaty
    killerpeaty Posts: 2,646 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    shellstar said:
    I'm not sure it's that safe to save your EF into shares, if you do have an emergency you would need to get the cash out quickly. Sometimes this is not possible with shares. Additionally if your shares have fallen then you are crystallising your losses.

Can Now TV cover the sports? I'm not sure, just asking.

As for entertaining, ask your friends to bring pot luck! No issues at all! Most reasonable people recognise that hosting costs money.
    I've definitely thought about whether or not the emergency fund should be in the shares, especially given that at the moment, the shares are struggling a little. I guess at the moment, give our current savings it's more of a nest egg, and if there really was an emergency I'd cover from the instant access accounts we have. If/when those savings get spent I probably need to re-evaluate that and consider moving some funds out to be more accessible. 

Good idea on the pot luck. I'm an ok cook but some of our friends are much better than me! I'll look into whether or not Now TV will give him the matches he likes. One of his friends has an illegal route in but I feel very funny about that and have vetoed the idea.