Money-shuffling towards mortgage freedom

MeandO
MeandO Posts: 2,862
First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
Forumite
edited 1 February 2022 at 10:49PM in Mortgage-free wannabe
Hello, I’ve been a member on the DFW boards for a long time having cleared any major debt some years ago. I’m a single mum to my wonderful DS and work part time, now WFH. 
I’ve been overpaying my mortgage for a few years but the past five years have dealt me some horrendous bad luck with first one, then a second house after surveys missed major structural issues on the first and then new build quality on the second was dire. (No prizes for guessing the name of the new build cowboys developers who built the 2nd one but I’ll give you a clue - it starts with a P and ends in ‘ersimmon’). Never. Again. 
We went from an old house, to brand new and am back to old again after finally selling the overpriced cardboard box last year and buying the best of a bad bunch on the market at the time which, in the words of the estate agent it ‘needed a bit of work.’ Turns out that was an understatement, but I’m hoping we’re nearing the end of the renovations now. So is my bank balance.
The mortgage has gone up and down over the last few years due to moving several times and, more recently, remortgaging to cover the cost of escalating work needed, but am determined to get rid of it as quickly as I can now. I’ve cleared £1000 off the mortgage in the past 3 weeks, so have made an overpayment of around £600. This won’t be sustainable long term unfortunately due to being on a P/T salary and being the only adult in the house, but am aiming to overpay by a minimum of £150 a month, hopefully a lot more.

A link to my old diary with the why’s, where’s and you wouldn’t believe it if I told you’s in full detail can be found here:

Hopefully we’re on the up whilst the mortgage is on the way down. 

M x

Mortgage @ 03/2019: £107K, Now: £67,900
Mortgage OP's 2024: £404.86/£2000 Total OP’s: £8615.42