Does MoneySaving run in the family?

Comments

• MaryNB
    MaryNB Posts: 2,319 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    edited 12 October 2021 at 12:59PM
    We never talked about money growing up. I hated asking for money and I was horrified after spending so much money on clothes during my first summer job as a teenager - both of those things made me more careful with money. I graduated during the worst part of the recession in Ireland and I know what it's like not even be able to find a job advert to apply to, let alone actually get a job so that also made me very nervous. When I did get a job in the UK I was under threat of redundancy after a year and a half and that threat was in place for about 8 months. My industry works in 5 year cycles so every 5 years I'm due to get nervous about my employment. 
    My parents pretty much had/have a job for life with far more favourable pensions so they didn't worry about that as much.

My brother is the opposite to me, spend spend spend, frequent visits to the bank of mam and dad. Lived at home rent free for years while working full time, asks them to pay for a car.

My dad is a man of cash, he has a card he rarely uses, no online banking at all. Hates DDs but he's also very forgetful so never went to pay in the post office on time. He was always getting late fees. Loads of unopened bills by the front door. We once had our phone cut off he forgot for so long. We were never short on money, he was just forgetful. I am the total opposite, everything by DD, I can see all my accounts on my banking app. I pay everything on card or my phone, unless it's cash only. 

My mother is currently working beyond her retirement age because she loves having her own funds. She's careful with money but is also willing to treat herself and loves having her own money to do so. She's a bit more tech savvy, loves online banking etc. I'm definitely more like her, although still far more nervous about money. 
  • Jet