Vanguard LifeStrategy® 60% Equity Fund - Accumulation

Hi,
I'm a complete newb to intesting etc. I've seen Vanguard mentioned quite a few times on the forum as a means of investment. Someone with a decent track record who will do everything for you.
I've approx 10k I was thinking of investing in the LifeStrategy 60% fund for approx 10+ years. I would also hope to add £100 per month to this initial deposit. I'd like the MAX poss return with the least poss risk. So with that all in mind,
1) Is this a terrible idea ?
2) Is this a terrible idea atm in the middle of a global pandemic ?
3) Do I have better options ?
Many thanks

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,995 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Investing in a global multi-asset fund is a good starting point for many investment journeys, but Vanguard does seem to receive disproportionate airtime, when its LifeStrategy offerings are no better than their competitors, and by some measures worse.

https://monevator.com/passive-fund-of-funds-the-rivals/ summarises the main players, although hasn't been updated for a couple of years, during which time the Blackrock MyMap series, for example, have been launched.

In terms of maximum return for minimum risk, this is pretty much the holy grail of investing, but it looks like you're aiming at the middle ground of medium(ish) risk and medium return, and could go either way from there, as it's always a trade-off....

In terms of timing, many think a correction or crash isn't far away, but people have been saying that for many years, so best be guided by the adage of 'time in the market rather than timing the market', i.e. just get on with it rather than waiting for what you feel may be better times to buy, as attempting the latter is notoriously difficult.
  • Ceme3000
    Ceme3000 Posts: 217 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper