county claim form vehicle control services ltd

hello everyone

please can you have a look at my defence, do i have a chance in court ? I received overstayed penalty charge from vcs in Feb. 2020, i appealed and it failed , I have received claim form with issue date 10/03/2021, i have done AOS on the 15/03/2021 and i ticked all boxes including contest judisciary, i have never done this before, never been to court before, now i think i have until 10th of April 2021 to submit my defence. please help me. thank you

Replies

• merits28merits28 Forumite
    95 Posts
    10 Posts Name Dropper
    here is my defence i have put together so far after reading the NEWBIES and other previous cases on here

In the County Court Business Centre

Claim Number: xxxxxxxx

Between:

xxxxxxxx (Claimant)

-and-

xxxxxxxxx (Defendant)

Defence

The Defendant denies that the Claimant is entitled to relief in the sum claimed, or at all.  It is denied that a contract was entered into - by conduct or otherwise - whereby it was ‘agreed’ to pay a ‘parking charge’ and it is denied that this Claimant (understood to have a bare licence as managers) has standing to sue, nor to form contracts in their own name at the location.

1.It is admitted that the Defendant was the authorised registered keeper and driver of the vehicle in question but liability is denied.

2.The Defendant delayed in returning to their vehicle was caused by circumstances that were entirely unforeseen, unavoidable and exceptional. One of the passenger who had come to the UK for a visit had fallen ill, the passenger was having an episode because of health issues and needed some painkillers and at the time I was pregnant and on steroids and other medication because I was diagnosed with graves disease, I was also with my 3 young daughters and one of them has sickle cell disease and at a time when we were all worried about the COVID 19.