Received Paring tickets in the School Car Park at the School I work for

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time writing on the forum, so for whatever replies I get...thankyou! Firstly, I've read countless PCN threads on this page but none seem to apply to my rather specific case.

Smart Parking has issued me 10 fines between the dates October 19th 2020 and 13th November 2020, grossing to an amount of £600. Originally, I was told that I owed £1,700 in fines after being threatened by a debt collection and threatened with a potential court order. Now after pestering Smart Parking countlessly, I have managed to get this reduced to £600 as all the letters were sent to the wrong address (I have since updated the car my address is registered to), and now have about 2 weeks or so to appeal otherwise the fine increases. 

I work as a teacher in a school and the school car park where all the teachers park is actually a privately owned car park. Between the period of late September till 1st February I was working 5 days a week at the school but through an agency as a contractor on site - only recently have I become officially employed by the school. When I first arrived in September, I was never told about the parking arrangement the school has with Smart Parking, and never told that my license plate needed to be put on a "whitelist" to exempt me from receiving fines. I was only made aware of this agreement after I raised the issue of the fines with the school in mid-November directly after receiving them, resulting in my car being placed on the whitelist but by this time it was too late.