Bitcoin

Options
Someone is trying to get me into bitcoins,  they are telling me I need two apps one  to buy and one to sell can anyone advise me if they are right in saying that.  I am totally new to this currency and I need to know a lot more about it ,  appreciate any help or advice thank you 

Comments

• barnstar2077
    barnstar2077 Posts: 1,384 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited 22 December 2020 at 10:42PM
    Options
    You don't need to know a lot more about it.  I would say you would be better off if you knew nothing about it, and kept it that way! (other opinions are available).  Please make sure you have a good emergency fund, pension and some sound investments before you start gambling on bitcoin (preferably with a very small amount of money.)
    Think first of your goal, then make it happen!
  • bowlhead99
    bowlhead99 Posts: 12,295 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Post of the Month
    Options
    Someone is trying to get me into bitcoins,  they are telling me I need two apps one  to buy and one to sell can anyone advise me if they are right in saying that.  I am totally new to this currency and I need to know a lot more about it ,  appreciate any help or advice thank you 
    No, you do not need any 'apps' at all, and although it's true that some exchanges are more efficient for buying than selling and vice versa, you do not need to use two of them. It is like saying that one gold merchant is slightly cheaper to buy from and a different one is slightly better to sell to, but you do not need to trek across town from one to the other with a cart full of gold if you just want to sell what you bought as quickly as possible.