Forum Home» Techie Stuff

Virus Protection for PC/Computer - Page 2

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

Virus Protection for PC/Computer

30 replies 471 views

Replies

• xlnc99xlnc99 Forumite
    1.3K posts
    1,000 Posts First Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭
    HP Envy x360 Convertible
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700U
    8GB

AMD RADEON RX VEGA 10 Graphics

This is the information i have got from the  hp support assistant on the laptop
  • xlnc99xlnc99 Forumite
    1.3K posts
    ✭✭✭
    i had a look online (i am no computer expert at all, i no the basics). Some say its the BIOS update, some say windows update, some day AMD update. I have no idea what it is, but its been a month now and its so annoying it takes so long to boot up
  • xlnc99xlnc99 Forumite
    1.3K posts
    ✭✭✭
    any sort of help to rectify this would be appreciated 
  • neilmclneilmcl Forumite
    16.6K posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Have a look at your startup apps to see if there's anything starting that shouldn't be. Also, if you haven't already got a copy, get and run the free Malwarebytes and Adwcleaner.
  • debitcardmayhemdebitcardmayhem Forumite
    10.3K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    OK that appears to be a built in GFX , I personally, since you didn't ask B) , would try disabling/removing Mcafee see if it boots faster, but a "clean" boot may help to narrow it down https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/929135/how-to-perform-a-clean-boot-in-windows , and then re-enable the bits you disabled one or two at a time.
    But if you look at step 3 on that link you could do a screen shot and post it here before going through it all. Have a look at that first

🍺 😎 Still grumpy, and No, Cloudflare I am NOT a robot 🤖