Investment advice

Options
[Deleted User]
[Deleted User] Posts: 0 Newbie
edited 1 October 2020 at 11:35AM in Savings & investments
First time here so apologies for anything I do wrong in advance.

i am looking for some advice on future investments, my background is as follows 

I am a 38 year old man living in the north east I own a 130k home with approx 80k on mortgage 
I have been a buy to let investor for almost 20 years buying/selling/renting various properties over the years.

i currently have 3 properties rented out giving me a gross income of £1450 a month I also have a PAYE income of approx 45k a year.

due to circumstances and recent relentless Negative changes to the buy to let market I have decided to sell my remaining rental properties, this will leave a net amount of approx £180k.

my question is what do I do with the money? I am considering paying off my home mortgage leaving in the area of £100k to invest.

I have no desire to do anything further with property as recent tax changes and legislation have made it unbearable.

any advice would be appreciated and as I said before sorry for anything I have missed out/ been unclear about etc.

Comments

• jonesMUFCforever
    Options
    The advice that would be given by this section of the boards would be holidays, holidays and more holidays!
    Perhaps you could ask this in the Investment board?
  • Voyager2002
    Voyager2002 Posts: 15,285 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I suggest that you discover the delights of business class on Oman Air. A stopover in Oman would allow you to hire a 4WD and explore some spectacular mountainous landscapes. Then there are many tempting destinations that would be within your budget...
  • pogofish
    pogofish Posts: 10,852 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options