It's not all about the debt anymore........

in Debt free diaries
31 replies 2.2K views
This is not my first debt free diary (last diary was called new diary, new hope) but I have decided to start a new one, mainly because my outlook on life and debt has changed immensely over the past three years and I would like my new diary to reflect the person I am now.
A little bit of back ground.......... 
My marriage ended just under two years ago, I found myself a single mum of one in a horrendous amount of debt. This was without doubt the lowest point of my life, I was lost, had little self-worth and was very low, but it ended up being the best thing that ever happened to me.
I actually had my LBM three years ago when my ex left the first time, I found out I was in £47,000 of debt excluding my mortgage, I knew I was in debt but I suppose at the time I was too scared to total it up and when I did I was in shock. I went to Step Change and set up a DMP which I have been paying for three years now. 
So now...........
My debt total is £26,611.09, I have paid up 43%, my debts are made up of £20,459.17 in a DMP and £6201.92 owed to friends and family. I have not taken on any new debt  and my total is coming down. I'm looking forward to it being under 20k. I have just been promoted at work, the pay rise is not huge its around £1000 a year, with the potential to earn more over the next two years. I budget every month and noticed this month some things starting to creep up so I have done some culling to reduce this back down. In regards to friends and family I pay regular payments to them every month, I have chosen  one debt to concentrate on - Next (in a family members name) this is the one I am making over payments to as this is the highest interest and the one I want gone by the end of this year, if not sooner, I currently owe £400.
Challenges still to face........