Brittany Ferries

Options
Hi I have been denied a refund from Brittany Ferries as they have offered vouchers. I do not feel that we will be travelling abroad in the time limit of 2 years Brittany have given for the vouchers to be used. Am I entitled to a cash refund as they cancelled the Ferry?
many thanks
wendy 

Comments

• DCFC79
    DCFC79 Posts: 40,598 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Hi I have been denied a refund from Brittany Ferries as they have offered vouchers. I do not feel that we will be travelling abroad in the time limit of 2 years Brittany have given for the vouchers to be used. Am I entitled to a cash refund as they cancelled the Ferry?
    many thanks
    wendy 
    How did you pay ?
    I believe you should be put back into the position before you booked the journey eg a cash refund but Im not an expert, other posters are more knowledgeable.
  • Yorky1942
    Options
    I have same issue with BF. I am 78 years old, a voucher refund is of no value to me whatsoever. Martin Lewis say in his bulletin 1st April 2020 ( page 6) that... "you are legally entitled to cash refunds NOT vouchers from flight cancellations." Why shouldn't the same legal protection apply to ferry travel cancellations???
  • Aylesbury_Duck
    Aylesbury_Duck Posts: 14,167 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    It does apply to ferry cancellations. 
  • Thrugelmir
    Thrugelmir Posts: 89,546 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Brittany Ferries have already asked the UK Government for a bail out. Issuing cash refunds will do them no favours. 
  • R3dders
    R3dders Posts: 91 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options