Martin Lewis: Working from home due to coronavirus, even for a day? Claim TWO years' worth of tax re

edited 13 April at 12:52PM in Martin's Blogs & Appearances & MoneySavingExpert in the News
452 replies 45.6K views

Replies

• Tim11111000111Tim11111000111 Forumite
    39 Posts
    Second Anniversary 10 Posts
    myuserid said:
    Like many, I'm new to claiming expenses for working at home, so have a few queries for anyone with a better understanding.
    1. I found the wording a little unclear in the blog post, so is it really the case that those with more generous employers (who are, frankly, less likely to be in need) can get £6/week, whereas everyone else can only get £1.20/week via a P87?
    2. Can the weeks at home due to COVID-19 prior to 6th April 2020 be claimed at a future date, together and in one go with the weeks/months after that date? or do the weeks prior have to be claimed now, i.e. at the end of this tax year?
    3. For those weeks prior is there any difference in how they are claimed? e.g. the sort of information asked for, the need for receipts, etc.
    Thanks in advance to anyone that can help answer these questions.

1. Yes, unfortunately that's right.

2. As I understand it yes, you can claim for multiple tax years in one go. So it's probably easiest to claim it all in one go once you're back to work normally.

3. No - this tax relief isn't a coronavirus-specific thing (MSE is just highlighting it now as many more people are likely to be covered) so the documentation needed is the same. If you're claiming the £4/6 per week flat rate, that documentation is virtually nil.
  • Tim11111000111Tim11111000111 Forumite
    39 Posts
    Second Anniversary 10 Posts
    AgentOso1 said:
    I wonder if 2 people living at the same address can claim it?
    Yes, I think so. It might be more complicated if you want to claim anything above the £6/week flat rate.
  • myuseridmyuserid Forumite
    4 Posts
    First Post
    MoneySaving Newbie