New Post Advanced Search

Help!

1 reply 261 views
rainbowballrainbowball Forumite
3 posts
MoneySaving Newbie
My Ex husband and I bought our house together fourteen years ago. Seven years ago we broke up, he moved out and stopped paying his share of mortgage payments. We got a ‘quickie divorce’ which he pushed for as he wanted to remarry. I didn’t ask him for any money at the time. I have been covering the mortgage for the last seven years. I live in the house with our two children who are 14 and 12. I have now decided to sell and use the equity in the house to use as a deposit for a new house, and my ex husband is now demanding money from the house. When he moved out, the house was valued and there was £10k equity. Now seven years later there is potentially £60k equity. I have been paying the full mortgage payments plus both of our life insurance for the whole seven years since he stopped paying. What are my options please? I understand I could have gone about things differently and maybe should have got a solicitor to deal with the divorce but I simply couldnt afford it at the time. 

Replies

• edited 17 April at 10:57AM
    SistergoldSistergold Forumite
    513 posts
    500 Posts First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭
    edited 17 April at 10:57AM