Bluestone Credit Management and HMRC

Options
[Deleted User]
[Deleted User] Posts: 0 Newbie
First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
edited 28 February 2020 at 7:19AM in Benefits & tax credits
Newbie here!  Thanks for any assistance.

Got a letter from these saying that HMRC have paid me too much tax credits and I need to pay it back. All discussions & payments have to go through them.

This is the first I've heard about this, nothing prior from HMRC. I remember a claim for CTC being live for some years and still ongoing in March 2012 when my now ex-wife and I separated.  The money received from this claim went into her own bank account (along with the family allowance), not into our joint account or my personal account.

My ex has continued to claim CTC and more recently WFTC and has recently moved onto Universal credit and has had some sort of overpayment of credits around the same amount claimed owed by me, which she has already paid with assistance from someone else.

I am not working and am in receipt of Support Group ESA and PIP enhanced Care and Mobility.  I am waiting for our now repossessed ex family home to be sold and then intend to declare myself bankrupt, if this makes any difference.

Do you think there is any merit in this claim from Bluestone?  It's almost 8 years since I had anything to do with tax credits.  Many thanks for any help!

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Posts: 15,696 Forumite
    edited 28 February 2020 at 7:37AM
    Options
    HMRC are actively chasing historic Tax Credit debts so this may well be correct, however you may wish to contact HMRC to confirm.

if the debt debt is from when you had a couple claim HMRC are allowed to recover the whole debt from either party but normally try and get half the amount from each party.

Did you tell HMRC when you separated so your ex had to make a new single person claim?
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Some rules may be different in other parts of UK.