Repeated hospital parking fines for taxi driver working for ambulance service

Hello all at MSE!

Regretably, my first post is a question about multiple parking fines, but I am rather desperate to get this matter resolved.

I am a taxi driver and regularly do work for the NHS hospital transport service via another company. This involves the dropping off and collecting of patients.

Only one hospital in particular has been a problem and I have now ammassed four parking fines while I help the patients, many of whom are seriously ill and cannot walk, into and out of the hospital in wheelchairs. I am not on the hospital premises for long but I sometimes go over the 20 minute waiting limit while looking for patients that are not where they are supposed to be or they are delayed waiting for a doctor to discharge them or awaiting medication.

I took this matter to the Ombudsman, explaining the situation, that I need to visit this hospital for work purposes, but I can only guess that they didn't read my letter properly as they said that I must pay the fines. How can this be right?

The problem is, this is crippling my income to such an extent that I may be out of business very soon.

PLEASE tell me that there is something I can do about this. How do I challenge the parking company? Can I challenge the Ombudsman? Am I now forced to pay the fines since I took the matter further to the Ombudsman?

Thank you for any advice.

Alison.

Replies

• Half_wayHalf_way Forumite
    6K Posts
    Ninth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    1: These are not fines
    2: what do you mean by the ombudsman??
    3: are you familair with the NHS pakring principles for staff, patients and visitors? https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/nhs-patient-visitor-and-staff-car-parking-principles/nhs-patient-visitor-and-staff-car-parking-principles
    4: with the above in mind, have you complained to the NHS trust(s) in question - such as PALS?