We've changed the name of this board from 'Greenfingered MoneySaving' to simply 'Gardening'. This is to help make it easier to find for the horticulturally inclined. The URL remains unchanged for the time being, so all links to the board are unaffected.

Getting rid of ivy for good

Options
baggins11
baggins11 Posts: 274 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post
I have a major ivy and bramble problem which I am really struggling with. I didn't want to use any chemicals but I think I probably need to.

I wandered to an area of our plot that I hadn't looked at for a while and it is completely overrun with ivy. This is incredibly frustrating as I spent a couple of days at the end of autumn clearing this area.completely- I am obviously fighting a losing battle. It is like painting the Forth bridge and I fear I will never get on top of it.

So I am thinking I need to use chemicals. I have never used any chemical weedkillers before so please let me know if you have advice on how to deal with this.

And for the ivy/wildlife lovers - I am happy for ivy to grow in certain areas but don't want it near my house or retaining walls as it has already damaged one wall quite badly.

Comments

• Farway
    Farway Posts: 13,321 Forumite
    Homepage Hero First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    The only sure one is Roundup or similar, just follow the instructions on it and take obvious precautions

Despite adverse publicity it works. With ivy you may need more than one application because the leaves are glossy so run off is inevitable
    Eight out of ten owners who expressed a preference said their cats preferred other peoples gardens
  • -taff
    -taff Posts: 14,574 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Digging out the roots will also work, as will keeping it cut back...It's easier with brambles though, the roots are easier to dig out, they go away....
    Shampoo? No thanks, I'll have real poo...
  • Mojisola