Staff outing - only ladies invited

Options

Comments

• Kynthia
    Kynthia Posts: 5,668 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Brynsam wrote: »
    Massive overreaction to something which really isn't that important. First world 'problem'...

Hardly a "massive" overreaction to send one polite email.

Fair enough if it was staff themselves organising a ladies night out, but it was an official staff event organised by management, and communicated to all staff. Men were instructed to organise something for themselves further confirming that this was a work-led outing where the split was based on gender, and men were being treated unequally as management weren't organising their event it wouldn't be acceptable to do this by race or sexual preference so it isn't right to do it on gender.

The fact that some men wouldn't be bothered doesn't mean it's not wrong.
    Don't listen to me, I'm no expert!
  • Comms69
    Comms69 Posts: 14,229 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Funnily enough the only time I’ve witnessed sexism in the workplace was a couple of similar situations.

Still don’t understand why ‘minorities’ are automatically assumed to be victims of oppression
  • Potbellypig
    Potbellypig Posts: 775 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Right or wrong, it's checkmate from the manager with the move to cancel the event because you complained though. It's made the OP look like a right numpty to his work colleagues.

Sometimes in life we just say nothing and it works out better. This was probably one of those occasions.
  • F_Bear
    F_Bear Posts: 345 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    i'd print all the emails off and keep them in a safe place.