Staff outing - only ladies invited

Options

Comments

• robatwork
    robatwork Posts: 7,116 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Can I just clarify - is (was) this a meal funded by the staff themselves, or by us (the taxpayers) or by the manageress?
  • Kynthia
    Kynthia Posts: 5,669 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Wow I'm shocked! Well done for saying something. I work in the public sector and wouldn't expect something like that.

I think it's wrong to have two events split by gender for more than one reason. However to not even organise an event for the men but dismissively tell them to sort themselves out is insulting.

The way I think it should be done, if they wanted to do something they suspect many wouldn't like to do, would be to advertise two events open to all and let everyone decide which they'd like to attend. Even if they were typically gendered events such as afternoon tea and a football match, at least people would have had a free choice and I bet in a large office they wouldn't be a 100% gender split.
    Don't listen to me, I'm no expert!
  • Kynthia
    Kynthia Posts: 5,669 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 28 February 2019 at 9:10PM
    Options
    ReadingTim wrote: »
    Poorly worded, but given the civil service has a reputation for being somewhat 'pale, male and stale', women-only networking groups/events are no less a minority group than (say) ethnic-minority only networking groups, or LGBT groups; and no less valid to include or exclude those who don't, as well as do, fall within their remit.

I assume that any such LGBT groups that you might be involved with are similarly inclusive in respect of heterosexual participation? Or is "just for the heterosexuals" bad, but "just for the gays" ok?!?