IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Britannia/BW Legal Claim Form

Options

Comments

• Umkomaas
    Umkomaas Posts: 41,410 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    They can legitimately claim court filing and hearing fees (£25 each) and £50 legal fees, if incurred.
    Please note, we are not a legal advice forum. I personally don't get involved in critiquing court case Defences/Witness Statements, so unable to help on that front. Please don't ask. .

I provide only my personal opinion, it is not a legal opinion, it is simply a personal one. I am not a lawyer.

Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day; show him how to catch fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.

Private Parking Firms - Killing the High Street
  • jackpot_spaniel
    Options
    They can legitimately claim court filing and hearing fees (£25 each) and £50 legal fees, if incurred.

But CPR 27.14 says:
    (2) The court may not order a party to pay a sum to another party in respect of that other party’s costs, fees and expenses, including those relating to an appeal, except –
    (b) in proceedings which included a claim for an injunction or an order for specific performance a sum not exceeding the amount specified in Practice Direction 27 for legal advice and assistance relating to that claim;

And that's the only mention of legal fees... I've also clarified on the internet and everywhere says legal fees cannot be claimed on the small claims track...
  • Redx
    Redx Posts: 38,084 Forumite
    Options
    Bargepole wrote the fees allowed on here some time ago

What Umkomaas wrote above is a short summary and he is correct , which is why we know that any sum claimed above £200 has hidden unwarranted charges in it