HSBC new current account opening woes

Hi,

I am new to forum and UK and sorry for a long post. I recently arrived in UK to work for an IT firm in London and even tough things are so good so far, i have been shocked by UK banking sector and how they treat customers. I am new to UK so don't have any traditional proof of address document as I am living in a shared house. I have tried opening a basic bank account in ALL possible banks in UK to receive my salary which will is due next week but almost all of them require a valid proof of address to open the bank account. My employer recommended HSBC as all of his immigrant employees have used a reference letter for employer as valid proof of address and HSBC have been very welcoming. I applied online on 25th of August for a bank account and received a email that I have been allocated time on 12th September to receive a phone call for safeguarding process which i never received. On calling to their helpline, i was told it was "accidentally" missed by their staff but they were "kind enough" to issue me another day in same week for safeguarding process which was completed in 40 minutes call. I was then asked to submit copy of passport, BRP and reference letter to branch which i did the next day. The lady who handled my documents asked me to call their helpline on Monday and my account should be up and running in couple of working days. I have been calling their helpline daily since then and after waiting 15 minutes on hold, i have been told that they don't have any update on my account opening and asked to call back again next day again which i have been doing ever since with same response. Today on call, i was told that they are waiting for response from "on boarding team" and it can even take a month for that to arrive so they can't provide any time frame. SURPRISE!. I am posting here to ask about any possible option I have to receive my salary (employer won't provide me my salary in cash, i know it's not how things are d