Do I need a SkyQ box/subscription?

Options
My apologies, but I'm losing the will to live trying to find an intelligible answer from someone who isn't trying to sell me something.
1. I have a 4K/UHD TV.
2. I have a Sky+HD subscription with everything except Sky Sports.
3. Before I got the 4K TV, some programs I watch e.g. Blacklist said at the start "Also available in UHD". Now they don't. Is this because I am now watching in 4K/UHD?
4. If I'm not watching in 4K/UHD - why is that?
5. I feel it looks a lot better than it used to, but if I'm not watching it in 4K/UHD, then presumably it's just because I have a better TV?

And so to the point of the title; do I have to upgrade my existing package to SkyQ in order to watch any or all 4K/UHD content output by Sky on my 4K/UHD TV?

All replies will be appreciated. I don't need to hear about Amazon & Netflix - I know what they do and offer, I'm only interested in Sky content. Feel free to explain it to me like I'm a 5 year old.
If in doubt - do something. (With fond memories of Harry Chapin)

Comments

• Browntoa
    Browntoa Posts: 49,300 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    You need sky Q for UHD
    Ex forum ambassador

Long term forum member
  • Tiexen
    Tiexen Posts: 724 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    You can only view UHD on a Sky Q box - your existing box is only HD

Most of the UHD content is (apart from sport) not live - its all on demand, so you need to find out if theirs enough UHD of the type you want to watch before deciding to upgrade - Live UHD (mainly sport) will need a good broadband speed but the on demand stuff will download to your box for viewing.

You need the Sky Q 2TB box to view UHD

Hope that helps
  • Inner_Zone
    Inner_Zone Posts: 2,853 Forumite
    Options
    Tiexen wrote: »
    You can only view UHD on a Sky Q box - your existing box is only HD