Pay working as a Takeaway driver?

Options
Hello all, newbie here so apologies in advance if I have posted in the wrong section. I am looking for some advice.

I recently began University and have started a job in the evening, working as a delivery driver for an Indian takeaway, ( seemed to make sense when budgeting for food bills) but I feel that they are taking advantage of my nature as I always try to please and never say no..

It's only for 3 nights at the weekend, most of which I drive 30 plus miles per night, so over 90 miles over the 3 shifts, 4.30pm to 10.30pm, but I only get paid £25 per evening and the owner keeps all of the delivery charge money. I don't feel that this can be right. On top of this, I have had to upgrade my policy to business class 2 insurance for this job which has raised my premium quite a bit.

Is the practise of the owner keeping the delivery money, £1.50 per delivery, (and any tips) normal or am I being taking advantage of?

I have to use £30 of my wage on petrol alone so am not really making much I just want to try and stand on my own feet and not rely on my parents too much.

My boyfriend has told me that his friend back home done this kind of work for a Chinese takeaway last year, but he was paid something like £20 per shift, plus £1.00 for every delivery that he made.

Does anyone have any experience or advice for me on something like this? Should I try to find another job?

Kindest regards
Sarah

Comments

• nicechap
    nicechap Posts: 2,852 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    6 hours at £25 = under minimum wage.

I'd ask my union to intervene.
    Originally Posted by shortcrust
    "Contact the Ministry of Fairness....If sufficient evidence of unfairness is discovered you’ll get an apology, a permanent contract with backdated benefits, a ‘Let’s Make it Fair!’ tshirt and mug, and those guilty of unfairness will be sent on a Fairness Awareness course."
  • System