When things hit rock bottom the only answer is to fight the way back up...

Options

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,097 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I work in the B postcode but live in M . Had to go into work at short notice .
  • Hiddenidenity
    Options
    I work in the B postcode but live in M . Had to go into work at short notice .

Wow you're so close!
  • louby40
    louby40 Posts: 1,519 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hello, I've been reading your diary since yesterday (i'm only on page 35) and I just want to say how brilliantly you're doing. I shall go back and read the rest of your diary later.

Just a thing I keep noticing you say is that you pay for DS dinner money. I know that Reception and Key Stage 1 get a free lunch but isnt your son entitled to free school meals? . I'm a primary school teacher (I teach Year 1) and even if your child is in Rec/KS1 you should still fill a form in (if you fit into the criteria below) available in school which gives the school extra money to support your child e.g. with extra support if they are struggling, payment towards an after school club if you cant afford to pay it and even towards school trips. It's called Pupil Premium in school and helps children whose parents are in the armed forces and children who are fostered - as well as children who need academic support.

Your child might be able to get free school meals if you get any of the following:
    Income Support
    income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance
    income-related Employment and Support Allowance
    support under Part VI of the Immigration and Asylum Act 1999
    the guaranteed element of Pension Credit
    Child Tax Credit (provided you’re not also entitled to Working Tax Credit and have an annual gross income of no more than £16,190)
    Working Tax Credit run-on - paid for 4 weeks after you stop qualifying for Working Tax Credit
    Universal Credit