Debt Free 2017

Options
Hi newbie here (be kind!)

I've subscribed to MSE for a while now but never really participated in the forums but having had a wake up moment this week I'm determined to get me and my husband debt free ASAP (so that we can start saving a deposit).

Whilst I'm on a good salary my husband is on minimum wage. We have around £4k debt on credit cards (from our wedding) and I have a £13k professional loan which I'm slowly paying off.

I've started taking some steps to get our finances in order - I'm looking into changing my loan to reduce the interest (currently about 8%) and cut unnecessary payments such as subscriptions but I know there is far more I could be doing (tips welcome).

So hello to all on the forum - I'll be trying to keep this thread updated with our progress!
Loan - £12702.19 Credit cards - £4150.88 Overdraft - £0

Starting 2017's debt free resolution early

Comments

• Mrs_Hainsworth
    Options
    Just a quick update - gathered all the money around the house this morning (some cash that we received as wedding gifts, loose change and the OH's big jar of coppers) and paid it into the bank (£122.16); added some Amazon vouchers to my account (£25); put all our euros in the travel wallet (E13.97).

It probably doesn't seem like much but every little helps!

Now I'm going to plan some meals for the week ahead using up as much in the fridge / cupboards / freezer as we can. And tonight I will be making the OH look at changing our energy supplier.

• enthusiasticsaver
    Options
    Are your credit cards on 0%. That always helps. Are you still spending on the credit cards or are all the debts on there from your wedding?