I Want To Be Mortgage Free!

Options

Comments

• Bagz
    Bagz Posts: 5 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Jess,

What a fascinating story to read through your journal, and well done for working so hard in such a short space of time.
    I've been doing something similar to you myself for a few years, and I have to say, it's certainly paid off. One of the main things was everytime your mortgage has been "re-assessed" and the monthly payments reduce, keep the payments the same as you were paying previously, as you've always managed to previously - this should soon rack up the overpayment amounts after a couple of years! (I know Teacher2 says this above, I don't want to be seen as stealing their thunder!)

Now I'm not an expert at such stringent penny watching, but something I noticed you mention in a few earlier posts that felt all too familiar with me. You said that you've spread the cost of Christmas over a couple of months, which I think is a great idea, and used to do it myself. But then a work colleague suggested to me, why not save up during the whole year (each month) a stock amount, and this spreads the cost even more - so instead of trying to find £150 for two months, instead you could save £25 each month and still end up with a Christmas budget of £300!!

As for your Mortgage OP's - I was staggered as to how intense you seem to be taking this, and how much you're wishing payday to come round in order to pay off some more. By all means, this is only my advice, but I'd worry you're maybe a little too intense about it, and instead of planning to OP before payday, maybe look at excess monies left at the end of a month, and pay off anything left. That way, I think you could look at possibly slicing a little bit off into a "fun" fund, and go out and spoil you and the OH - even if it is just for that extra takeaway once a month!! I think we'd all agree on here, you've worked hard for it!