Couch to 5K support thread.

Options

Comments

• I'm relieved to see the odd comment about 'repeating' a weeks programme. I did wonder about this notion of an almost magical training system that changes folk of all fitness backgrounds into a 5k runner in 9 weeks.

Now in my mid 50s, I was very active at school - rugby, football, tennis, badminton and so on, and when I was a student I played indoor 5 a side football twice a week, plus the occasional 11 a side game.

When I started working, that went down to weekly indoor mixed 5 a side hockey, then in my second job, that fell to weekly 10 pin bowling. In terms of exercise, it was a gradual decline down to the situation a couple of years ago when as I was doing nothing at all. I decided to start going for long walks, but that's been it.

With that history, I will be absolutely astounded if i can get through the 9 week programme in 9 weeks - maybe 18 weeks but 9? :eek:

WR
  • iammumtoone
    Options
    Hi All

just popped in to let you know I am thinking of you all, well done to everyone who is out there running.

I am slightly disappointed with myself that I haven't managed to fit in my last run of the week, but work has been really busy and finding childcare is difficult. I will do my best to get out tomorrow to complete but if not I mustn't consider it a fail and just carry over into next week.
  • iammumtoone
    Options
    Wild_Rover wrote: »
    I did wonder about this notion of an almost magical training system that changes folk of all fitness backgrounds into a 5k runner in 9 weeks.

totally agree, going from nothing to 5K in 9 weeks is a tall order, it is unrealistic to advertise it as possible for everyone. I think the site should make this clearer it probably puts many people off starting which is a shame as if you take it slow and steady you will get there, not in 9 weeks but that doesn't matter, its completing it which is important, not the timings.
  • WantToBeSE
    WantToBeSE Posts: 7,729 Forumite