Best Value/Basics groceries?

Comments

• Hemera
    Hemera Posts: 57
    Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Forumite
    HappyMJ wrote: »
    It's actually 25% but I know what you're saying just look at the reviews....

http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/shop/gb/groceries/diced--minced---meatballs/sainsburys-pork---beef-mince--basics-1kg

There are other options such as the Sainsbury's branded beef mince which is just 5% fat.

25% fat pork/beef mince is £3/kg
    20% fat beef mince is £4/kg
    10% fat beef mince is £5/kg
    5% fat beef mince is £6.60/kg

I know which one I would pick.
    I was referring to Tesco Everyday Value products, as stated at the beginning of my post ;)
    Their everyday value fresh mince was I believe 46% fat. Now I can't find it anymore on the website, and the pictures of the package I found on Google are too small to read the nutritional values, but I am fairly sure I remember correctly, because I bought it a few times when I was a broke student :o.

Now I mostly buy Tesco's 10% fat mince, I think it is a good proportion. Even 25% isn't bad, there are recipes that call for relatively fatty meat ("proper" bolognese is one of them for example). 46% is just too much.
  • bones85
    bones85 Posts: 108
    First Anniversary First Post
    Forumite
    I've never really tried any Tesco Value branded products, But since i'm down to the bare bones financially, I'm going to have to make my money last, So i'll be buying things like value eggs,chicken and so on

Anyone recommend anything in particular that isn't actually that bad?

I have £42 to last me 3 weeks :( So i'll be on the basics, bread,milk,chicken,porridge and so on
  • juliesname
    juliesname Posts: 53
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Hi bones85,

I buy Tesco cheapest oats, fruit & veg (apart from huge parsnips as they can be woody), sultanas, long grain rice. Before dietary needs changed I used to buy bread, pasta twists, flour and cheese.