cyclists turned right when i overtook

Options

Comments

• kraken776
    Options
    Joe_Horner wrote: »
    You posted a streetview link, I stood on the (virtual) road and moved from one end to the other of the stretch in question.

As a very experienced driver who has never come close to hitting a cyclist (imaginary or otherwise), I easily identified at least half a dozen features that made overtaking there potentially unsafe. I seem to remember listing them for your help at the time but really CBA to go back and look for that post.

I am also a experienced driver with 20+ years driving experience, I have never hit a cyclist and this is the only near miss i have had.

There are many posters on this thread who said i did nothing wrong. some said i did nothing wrong but evidence may be a problem. The vast majority fall into these groups, only small minority of very vocal repeat posters have said i did anything wrong and they haven't been able to cite a single reason why it would have been unsafe (more on this bellow).

Listing features which makes overtaking "potentially unsafe" is not enough. Any stretch of road is going to have an enormous amount of "features" which a person can list. Evidence of this is that i have been able to successfully explain why ALL of the "features" people have claimed did not make it unsafe. Most of these features were too far away to be relevant at the time or in one extreme case a feature which did not exist at all (someone literally mentioned something which was not there, i pointed out that it did not exist then latter on this person stupidly said the same thing again).

To show that overtaking there was dangerous you have to at the very least cite a feature which would have caused an accident without a 3rd party doing something negligent (such as shooting across the road without checking it was safe and without any warning whatsoever) So far no one on this thread has been able to do that.