Maximise balance transfer into current account

Hi all!

I'm new to stoozing and wanted to know how to make the most of the current situation.

1. Capitalone (standard)
2. Lloydsbank Platinum (28m 0% balance transfer, 1% charge) - £2,500 / £4,500
3. Barclaycard (26m 0% balance transfer, 0.68% charge)- £0 / £14,300

Preferably would like to get about £14,000 into my savings.

I have read that some people can make a positive transfer from Lloyds cc into their linked current account. I'm not too sure about this and rather not risk wasting the transfer fee. Will it be wiser to get a MBNA credit card and transfer the balances to my account, or there is a way without that.

I received Lloydsbank card before last christmas and barclaycard today. I may not even be able to get that card.

thanks!

Replies

• The only money transfer deals I have received from Lloyds credit card have been whilst I was an existing customer and even then, it's probably been once a year, if that. I still get sent other balance transfer offers from them (usually 18 months 0% at 1.49% fee) every quarter or so, but they definitely do not offer money transfers as part of any of their credit card range.

If you can get an MBNA card then you could do a balance transfer from your Barclaycard onto it to put your account into a positive balance and then request MBNA to refund it to your current account.

However, I must admit I've never done a balance transfer to them for such a high amount especially knowing I was purposefully putting my account into a positive balance and would be worried if they flagged it for money laundering purposes/started some kind of fraud investigation.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=5205695
    I'm a Board Guide on the Credit Cards, Loans, Credit Files & Ratings boards. I'm a volunteer to help the boards run smoothly, and I can move and merge threads there. Any views are mine and not the official line of moneysavingexpert.com
  • harrikoharriko Forumite