I despair of the education system.

Options
I was in a certain bargain store earlier, and was being served by a young woman. I'd estimate late teens.

One of the items was a tray of 12 cans. She started counting them, so I said "There's 12. Four by Three".

Her reply was "I'm not very good at maths".

When she'd rung up all the items, she told me it was £19-01.

I gave her a £20 note, and a penny.

She tried to give me 1p in change.

Comments

• Stuart788
    Stuart788 Posts: 915 Forumite
    Options
    There's always been stupid people or rather people who struggle with maths regardless of educational standards. I hate comments like yours because it's usually from self righteous snobs who think they're better than other generations.

Why not just tell your story, which didn't need embellishing, and have a few links instead of insulting everyone not lucky not enough to have in your mind your type of education.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    I don't think it's down to being stupid. I think it's down to the recent education system, where learning your times tables (or indeed, how to do sums without a calculator) isn't considered necessary.

I don't consider myself to be exceptionally gifted, yet I, along with everyone else in my class, learned their times tables, and how to do simple mental arithmetic.
  • Stuart788
    Stuart788 Posts: 915 Forumite
    Options
    Look beyond the Daily Mail headlines.
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0 Newbie
    First Anniversary First Post Debt-free and Proud!
    edited 16 January 2016 at 5:40PM
    Options
    If it's not down to the teaching methods, how is it that every single pupil in my class (all 33 of them), left school, knowing their times tables?
    Stuart788 wrote: »
    Look beyond the Daily Mail headlines.

My brother went to see my nephew's English teacher, to ask how he got 10/10 for his essay, when it was full of spelling mistakes.

The answer?