Crisis Loan Fraud

Options
Hi All

Forgive me if this is the wrong messageboard to post this on, I am new to this!

OK so I got a very worrying call this morning from social fund to say I have to repay back some crisis loans taken out in 2012. I have always worked and never needed a crisis loan so I have definitely not taken one of these out, the person on the phone said I owe £450 and it would be taken out of my wage at £100 a month. I explained that it was not me and I want this investigating. Somebody has obviously stolen some identification from me, I have an inkling who this could be but obviously I cant go accusing people without any evidence.

So my questions are, will these people take money from my wage? I really cant afford to lose £100 a month. Also surely these guys record calls or have cctv footage to prove it wasn't me that applied for these loans?

Many Thanks

Dave

Comments

• NYM
    NYM Posts: 4,066 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I think it's strange that they contacted you by phone but you've not had any written communication from them... :think:

If you have any idea of who it may be, you should get as much information together that you can so that you can let the DWP know who they should really be chasing for the debt.
  • dking1234
    Options
    I found that strange as well, I have moved house since 2012, maybe that is why? I have no idea how they have got my phone number. I have nothing to prove this guy did it, it is just a friend of a friend really that came to my house a few times when I held barbeques, I always thought he was dodgy. Surely whoever did it will be easy to catch, just check cctv/phonecalls
  • SandraScarlett
    SandraScarlett Posts: 4,133 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    dking1234 wrote: »