IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

PCN for stopping in yellow box when turning right

Options
Hello,

First parking fine by the council at a junction I have been driving on for over 8 years.

At Chadwell Heath in 2014, the council decided to put a yellow junction box.

This turning is extremely hard to get out of with normally about 30 cars on Chadwell Heath Lane trying to either turn left, turn right or get across to the turning right lane.

I was trying to get other to the turning right lane but because the traffic is terrible here, my back wheels stopped in the yellow junction box.

At this point I was behind the car for the turning right lane.

I appealed to the council with this:

"I pulled out from Chadwell Heath Lane on the the High Road to join the queue of traffic that oncoming traffic was preventing from turning right"

My appeal was rejected on the grounds of:

"You MUST NOT enter the box until your exit road or lane is clear"

I am not sure what to do now, I have attached the original PCN, any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank You

council.jpg

Comments

• lovinituk
    lovinituk Posts: 5,711 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Pay your fine and don't do it again? I really don't see why it's so hard to comply with a box junction. You can see how big the gap is at the other end so don't go until you know you can clear the box.
  • bod1467
    bod1467 Posts: 15,214 Forumite
    Options
    Your back wheels haven't stopped in the box - almost the entire car is in the box!

The highway code is very clear on this - you must not enter a box junction until the exit is clear.