What exactly is going on with the stock market at the moment?

Options
So, what is causing the FTSE to tank? Is it the US credit bubble? The UK credit bubble? What exactly is going on? Just curious. I am a newbie to investing so for all I know this happens "all the time" but I am wondering how "normal" it is for it to drop 200+ points in a week?

Comments

• Browntrout_2
    Options
    Summertime lethargy, high oil price, sub-prime credit failure, rising interest rates are all weighing on sentiment.

200 points is 4% and takes the FTSE100 back to levels seen in June & May.

However the bigger picture is a market that's been in steady uptrend for 4 years. The trading range is approx 6950 to 6280, presenty ~6450.

IMHO could drop another 200 points before resuming uptrend.

However could drop 1200 points just as easily!!:eek:

Buy long stay happy.
    If it takes a man a week to walk to walk a fortnight how long does it take a fly with tackity boots on to walk through a barrel of treacle?
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,383 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Nice. Mid caps are down 3% today. 3 drops in a row. Time to put a bit more money in.

edit, just as i finish typing that, it has recovered 0.5% in a few minutes.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • pamaris
    pamaris Posts: 441 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks guys... It seems like every time it drops, it recovers by the time I can put more money in. If it's like this next week I'll be OK. Maybe there is an ideal time of the month to make systematic purchases? (Like, maybe the market's higher at the beginning of the month, because that's when everyone buys?? I dunno)