Bank says no - could lose new job

Options

Comments

• Herzlos
    Herzlos Posts: 14,694 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Is there somewhere on site you can wait between shifts? It's obviously staffed 24/7, so should have a 24/7 break room.

Whilst not ideal, if you can get the last bus/train there for midnight, and wait until 6am for the first bus/train, you'll be able to travel much cheaper.

It would involve a few hours waiting about, but you can probably just nap or read or whatever. Then after payday you can look at getting a cheap car, and work up from there.
  • Lungboy wrote: »
    Jumping on a moped if you've never ridden before with zero training is a recipe for disaster.

That's how I started, and on a (21 bhp) 125 at that.
    James_B. wrote: »
    I'd really, really not recommend it without a CBT, though, or at least a couple of lessons from a professional instructor.

Bear in mind, the OP isn't a total novice on the roads.

They've held a full car licence, for at least 13 years.
  • gwin
    gwin Posts: 102 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I'm blown away with the response and the advice. Did not expect this.
    I intend seeing how the family can help first off. I had no idea you could ask the job centre for a loan. Another avenue I can explore.
    Everyone has been so helpful. Really appreciate it.
  • custardy
    custardy Posts: 38,365 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    It's a thirty mile round trip which will have to be made in all weathers and in the early hours both before and after a shift. Depends how fit the OP is.
    I think a moped is the most reasonable suggestion. All will involve some cost, though.

Hmm, if only I was speaking from experience......
  • lexington013
    Options
    Can't add any extra advice to what everyone else has already said, but wanted to say well done in getting a job and best of luck.:)