Bank changed my address 5 months ago without my permission

Options
Hi
I'm new to all of this but I am so angry about something that has just happened and I wondered if anyone else has had a similar thing. I left my 1st husband about 11 years ago, we had a joint account and I also had a sole account with Lloyds bank. It was not an amicable split and there was alot of upset ongoing several years. I moved back to my mums address and I believe he may have temporarily had his bank statements sent to his mums address. I changed my sole account to my parents address. I found a new partner and have been living at this address for probably 10 years now and changed my bank details to reflect this. I have been recieving mail from Lloyds at this address for years. I have today been handed by my ex mother in law a letter from Lloyds bank with my name and her address on it also my account number sort code. (It was unopened but she did say that she had redirected other ones previously). I called Lloyds to be told that they have her address on their system for all of my accounts and that it was changed April this year. They also tried to suggest that I might have done it!!!!! I can't think of anything worse and I'm sure that she wasn't all that happy either. They are now looking into how it was changed and why (It's definately their mistake) but I am so upset. I spent over 2 hours on the phone trying to get to the bottom of it, my 9 year old daughter overheard me mentioning an ex mother in law, something I did not want her to know about (certainly not yet anyway) and is now asking questions. My ex has friends/family that work in my local branch and I just don't know if somebody has been meddling with my account. I am so angry and I don't know what to do or how far to take this. I feel that my privacy has been breached in the worst possible way but not only that it has caused a lot of personal upset due to the nature of where the post went. Please advise

Comments

• PeacefulWaters